TPWD Major Bays

Date(s): Coverage Availability/Geographic Extent: Footprint: Source(s):
Creation date varies Texas State TPWD

Data Access

Direct Download

The full TPWD Major Bays data set can be downloaded directly.

Download the variably sized file here:


Data Details

Available Formats: Shapefile
Alternative Data: None
Derivative Data: None
Known Issues: None
Recommended Uses: Basemap, Research, Analysis


This dataset defines the major bays of the Texas Gulf Coast. The eight major bay systems are Sabine Lake, Galveston, Matagorda, San Antonio, Aransas, Corpus Christi, Upper Laguna Madre and Lower Laguna Madre. Two areas, East Matagorda Bay and Cedar Lakes, are sampled seperately from the previously mentioned eight bay systems. For the purpose of this map, those areas have been included in bays 1 though 8. East Matagorda Bay is part of the Matagorda Bay system and Cedar Lakes is part of the Galveston Bay system.